MENU Gilles Peterson // BBC 6 Music // Shabazz Palaces In Session

Gilles Peterson // BBC 6 Music // Shabazz Palaces In Session

November 11, 2014

Gilles is back in the studio for another Saturday afternoon mix up selection, joining the musical dots between soul, hip hop, house, afro, electronica, jazz and beyond, in his own inimitable style.

This week he is joined by Seattle-based experimental hip-hop group Shabazz Palaces who perform a selection of tracks, including music from their new album Lese Majesty.

The group is lead by Ishmael Butler, originally of the jazz/hip hop group Digable Planets, who released their debut album Reachin’ (A New Refutation of Time and Space) in 1993. Fast forward nearly two decades and Butler releases the Shabazz Palaces’ universally acclaimed label debut Black Up in 2011.

The collective have had support across 6 Music from Gilles and Lauren Laverne, for who they did a session for a when their last album arrived.

Listen Back Here!

Bonobo – Pelican
Fumio Itabashi  - Watarase Version 6, Symphonic Poem
Yann Tomita – Memory Band
Rotary Connection – Memory Band
Camille Howard – Within This Heart Of Mine
Dean Blunt – 100
Fumaça Preta – Toda Pessoa
Hailu Mergia and The Walias – Tche Belew
SBTRKT – Gon Stay
Theo Parrish – Fallen Funk
Trouble Man – Strikehard
Mr. Oizo – iSoap
Mad Unity – Funky Tramway
Funkadelic & Soul Clap – Dumb
James Brown – Mind Power
Charles Lloyd – Dream Weaver
Ibeyi – Better In Tune with the Infinate
Chance The Rapper – Get Better
Tasty Treats – Got To Believe
Silk Rhodes – Pains
Jessie Ware – Kind Of…Sometimes…Maybe
Cuthead – Logic
Roller Trio – Reef Knot
Dean Blunt – Punk
Moreno Veloso – Em Todo Lugar (Javelin Remix)
Criolo – Casa De Papelao
Tamba Trio – Barumba
Miles Davis – Blue In Green
Bob Marley & The Wailers – Funeral
Lil Herb – At The Light
Shabazz Palaces – New Black Wave (Live Session Track)
Shabazz Palaces – Forerunner Foray (Live Session Track)
Shabazz Palaces – We Come In Gold (Live Session Track)
Seekae – Test & Recognise (Flume Re-work)

Rozi Plain – Jogolong
Dean Blunt – Molly & Aquafina
James Brown – Sunny
The Black Opera – Beginning of the End
Keyon Harrold – Her beauty through my eyes
James Brown – Papa Don’t Take No Mess
Joe Dukes – Moohah The DJ
Theo Parrish – Make No War