MENU Worldwide Awards 2017 // The Winners

Worldwide Awards 2017 // The Winners

January 27, 2017

Reflections from Gilles…

I’m going to write up a proper review of last Saturday’s WW Awards… but for now, it was another full on session which kicked the year off really well for me. Only annoying thing was that I didn’t get to interview Noname or Jimetta while they were here – but I’ll do that next time they come. The after show party at Jazz Cafe was really good too – great to see Noname in a closer situation… and shouts to Ezra collective and Poppy Ajudha, Hannah Faith and Oscar Jerome…

I was delighted to hand out Lifetime Achievements to Matthew Herbert and Carleen Anderson who gave us a special ‘what’s going on’ moment on the piano just after the RIP section. We’d laid on a grand piano for Sampha who was meant to have been a surprise guest but unfortunately he fell ill on the day -but Carleen jumped on instead making full use of it.

… phew. Michael Kiwanuka also made a brilliant guest appearance on the receipt of winning best album…
and Jameszoo won the John Peel award… and recorded a heavy session at Maida Vale thats going out tomorrow on my return to 6 Music… so thanks to everyone who made it another memorable event. There’ll be a photo gallery going up later today and a film next week. Meanwhile here’s a list of the winners…

The winners in full:

Footpatrol Track of the Year – Melanie De Biasio “Blackened Cities”

1. Blackened Cities // Melanie de Biasio ** WINNER **
2. Rye Lane Shuffle // Moses Boyd
3. Strings of Light // Yussef Kamaal
4. Topper Top // Sir Spyro
5. Naturally Spineless // Minor Science
6. Sour Mango // Gabriel Garzon Montano
7. Skyscrapers // Jimetta Rose
8. On Our Way Home ft. Jimetta Rose + Fatima // Shafiq Husayn
9. Al Shark // Kalbata
10. Lite Spots // Kaytranada

Album of the Year – Michael Kiwanuka “Love & Hate”

1. Michael Kiwanuka // Love & Hate ** WINNER **
2. Gogo Penguin // Man Made Object
3. Yussef Kamaal // Black Focus
4. Jameszoo // Fool
5. Sarathy Korwar // Day To Day
6. Anderson .Paak // Malibu
7. Gregory Porter // Take Me to the Alley
8. A Tribe Called Quest // We Got It From Here … Thank You 4 Your Service
10. Carleen Anderson // Cage Street Memorial, The Pilgrimage

Breakthrough Act – Noname
Session of the Year – Lee Fields
Lifetime Achievement – Carleen Anderson
John Peel Play More Jazz – Jameszoo
Label of the Year – Soundway Records
Lifetime Achievement – Matthew Herbert

p.s. for anyone who wants to watch it all over again, we will be re-playing the live video stream this Thursday.

Photo credit: Dom Daniel