dan shake new

This Week's Guest Mix

Dan Shake has probably heard the story enough by now, but for those not in the know, his foot up into music came at Dimensions Festival two years ago, when he handed Moodymann a promo. That led to him being the first artist outside of Detroit to be released on KDJr’s Mahogoni Music – not bad for a first endorsement! With news of a follow-up dropping today, Dan put together 50 minutes of funk, disco, house and a whole load else packed full of soul.

Black Acre will be releasing Out of Sigh / Traders II on 12″ and digital, Feb 2015.

Follow our weekly Wordwide Family Mixtapes on the Gilles Peterson or Gilles Peterson Worldwide soundcloud. Check out previous Worldwide Family Mixtapes here and subscribe on Youtube for regular interviews and premieres.

Full Show Tracklist

The Greg Foat Group – Exodus (Interlude) (Jazzman)
The Greg Foat Group – Mr Minor (Live) (Jazzman)
Infinite Spirit – Children’s Song (Shout! Japan)
Bugge Wesseltoft, Henrik Schwarz & Dan Berglund – This Is My Day (Jazzland Recordings)
Theo Parrish – Fallen Funk (Sound Signature)
Black Milk feat. Random Axe – Scum (White Label)
Chocolateclay – Free (I’ll Always Be) (Cat Records)
Raw Soul Express – The Way We Live  (Cat Records)
Milton Wright – Keep It Up (Alston Records)

::Worldwide Family Mixtape – Dan Shake:: (see below for full mix tracklist)

Bonobo – Return To Air (Ninja Tune)
Paul White – Running On A Rainy Day (R&S Records)
José Gonzalez – This Is How We Walk On The Moon (Yep Roc Records)
Ibeyi – Yanira (XL Recordings)
Ibeyi – Better In The Tune (Jay Electronica Cover)
Criolo – Duas De Cinco (Unknown)
Chance The Rapper – Get Better (Free Download)
Seekae – Test & Recognise (Flume Re-work) (Future Classic)
Keyon Harrold – Her Beauty (Through My Eyes) (Beyondjazz)
Norman Connors & Dee Dee Bridgewater – Love From The Sun (Buddah Records)
Native Dancer – Love (Unreleased)
Theo Parrish – Make No War (Sound Signature)

The Fatback Band - I Like Girls (Southbound)
James Brown – Bodyheat (Polydor)
Moodymann – Stoneodenjoe (Peacefrog Recordings)
Earl Jeffers - Bridge Street Groove (Forthcoming)
Povo - Uam Uam (Raw Fusion)
Underworld – Cups (Junior Boy’s Own)
Seven Davis Jr - See The Light (Forthcoming)
Bob James - Spunky (Cratebug Edit) (Unreleased)
Armando – Downfall (Trax Records)
Red Greg - Inner Rhythm (Lumberjacks In Hell)
Chuck Brown & The Soul Searchers - Blow Your Whistle (Vampi Soul)
Mike Huckaby – Melodies From The Jazz Republic (Cross Section Records)
Charles Wright & The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band - Do Your Thang (Capitol Records)
Dan Shake - Out of Sight (Forthcoming)
Neptune Alpha Base Massive - Saturn Radio (Further Out Recordings)
J Dilla - Illasoul (Instrumental) (Delicious Vinyl)
J Dilla - Turn Me Up Some (Instrumental) (Xclusive)
J Dilla - Heroin Joint (Unreleased)