MENU Brownswood Electr*c 4 // May 12th

Brownswood Electr*c 4 // May 12th

April 7, 2014

Pre Order:

Gilles Peterson’s Brownswood imprint dips back into the electronic melting pot to compile its fourth “electr*c” compilation in as many years. The fruits of intensive exploration of the cracks and crevices within today’s wonderfully fractured bass music movement, Brownswood electr*c 4 features exclusive music from a new crop of up and comers. Some like Frenchman Nikitch and Belgian wunderkind LTGL are fresh out of the blocks, whilst the likes of Deft, Adam Elemental, Glenn Astro, D Tiberio and B Lewis have cultivated relative online infamy in recent times, each carving out their own unique path and singular artistry.

As usual we run the full gamut of styles, skipping from searing hypercolour hip-hop/bass hybrids; through ever so slightly wonky deep house; furious footworkin’ D&B that recalls vintage Metalheadz cuts circa ’96 (but somehow sounds steadfastly futuristic); awesomely drunken R&B; wrecking ball 808-driven bangerz; and introspective emo bumps… It’s a cluttered, chaotic, hyperactive kaleidoscopic trip – no doubt – but we wouldn’t have it any other way.

Founded by Alex “Patchwork” Stevenson (Patchwork Pirates / Earnest Endeavours) in 2010, the aim of this series was very simply to replicate the ethos of Peterson’s much loved Brownswood Bubblers series and provide a platform for new, up and coming artists starting to make waves in the worldwide underground. It’s an approach that has characterised Gilles’s approach to DJing, broadcasting and music from the very beginning of his career and it lies at the very heart of his accidental slogan: “Searching for the perfect beat”.

The inaugural Brownswood electr*c in June 2010 provided a compelling snapshot of the dance music underground’s greyer areas, rounding up then newcomers (now major players) Shlohmo, Rockwell, 16bit, George Fitzgerald, Mosca and Mount Kimbie. Subsequent volumes burrowed deeper into the warren-like electronic landscape uncovering hidden treasures from Ta-ku, Koreless, Synkro & Indigo (these days known as Akkord), Stray (one third of Ivy Lab) and highlighted underground anthems by the likes of Dub Phizix and Krampfhaft, in addition to a whole raft of exceptionally talented newcomers.

01. Louis Futon – Shoulda Known (GANZ Remix)

02. Nikitch – Radiated Light

03. Monk’ – “L”

04. Glenn Astro – We Killed Our Probation Worker

05. Deft – Breakdown

06. Adam Elemental – Green Eyes feat. Ravdeep Singh

07. NorvisJr – do kNo that…

08. LTGL – Hat To The Back (Brownswood Edit)

09. Feral – Rollercoaster

10. B Lewis – Four Days Alone

11. D Tiberio – All That’s Torn feat. Natasha Agrama

12. Brrd – Youth Group