MENU Gilles // BBC Radio 6 Music // Saturday 22nd March

Gilles // BBC Radio 6 Music // Saturday 22nd March

March 24, 2014

This week Gilles is back in the studio for another Saturday afternoon mix up selection, joining the musical dots between soul, hip hop, house, afro, electronica, jazz and beyond, in his own inimitable style. Featuring new tracks from Teebs, SBTRKT and Jay Electronica and also a Do-Over from Brazil’s Jorge Ben and New York beatmaker, Brock Berrigan.

Listen again here 

Track listing

Seun Kuti & Egypt 80 – IMF (Knitting Factory Records)
Ibibio Sound Machine – Let’s Dance (6 Music Session Track) (BBC Session)
Fat Freddys Drop – Mother Mother (Theo Parrish Remix) (Self-Released)
Bill Evans – Fall In Love Part 1 (House Of Jazz)
4 Hero Feat. Jill Scott – Another Day (Talkin’ Loud)
SBTRKT – Resolute (Young Turks)
Kwabs – Pray For Love (Warner Music)
Jay Electronica – Better In Tune With The Infinite Feat. LaTonya Givens (Roc Nation)
The Gary McFarland Orchestra – Night Images (Five Four)
Genesis The Greykid – Grey Edge (Self-Released)
Bernard Lavilliers – Tendresse (Polydor)
Erlon Chaves – E Nos, Aonde Vamos? (Polydor)
DJ Rashad x DJ Spin X Taso – Worldstar VIP (Bandcamp)
Little Dragon – Klapp Klapp (Swindle Remix) (White)
Karol Conka – Caxambu (Mr Bongo Worldwide)
Catch Up – Onkel Joe (KICK)
Floating Points – King Bromeliad (Eglo Records)
Segilola – Paint The Way (King Deluxe)
Bambooman – Esama (Sonic Router)
Fatima Al Qadiri – Shanghai Freeway (Hyperdub)
Tino Contreras – Orbita (Jazzman)
Terri Walker – Tired Out ( ?? )

=Double Do-Over=
Ramsey Lewis – Wade In The Water (Cadet Records)
Homeboy Sandman – Wade In The Water (Stones Throw)
Brock Berrigan – The Celebration Song (Take It Easy Brother Charlie)
Jorge Ben – Take It Easy My Brother Charles (Dusty Groove)

José Prates – Nanã Imborô (Polydor)
Watusi – Oio Gebe
Mago Bo – No Balanço da Canoa (Mr Bongo)
Criolo – Duas de Cinco (Man Recordings)
Myron&E – Dangerous (Stones Throw)
Amp Fiddler Feat Raphael Saadiq – Take It (Bandcamp)
Bernard Edwards – You Don’t Know Me (Atlantic)
Roy Ayers – Brand New Feeling (BBE)
Tirzah – No Romance (Greco-Roman)
Teebs – Wavxxes (Feat. Lars Horntveth) (Brainfeeder)
Fatima – Talk
Jun Miyake -
Daphni & Owen Pallett – Julia
Anushka – World In A Room (Brownswood Recordings)
Time – ?
Wynton Marsalis – Wheel Within a Wheel (Atlas East)
Jonathan Jeremiah – ?
Mark Murphy – Why and How (GmbH)