MENU Gilles on BBC 6 Music // Stepkids in the studio

Gilles on BBC 6 Music // Stepkids in the studio

October 21, 2013

This week Gilles has a session recorded at Maida Vale studios with psychedelic soul band, The Stepkids. Having formed in 2009 and hailing from Connecticut, this month they are touring to coincide with the release their sophomore album, ‘Troubadour’ on Stonesthrow Recordings. Gilles chats with the three-piece as they record the session, finding out more about the new record. Plus, there’s plenty of new music alongside some re-discovered classics.

You can stream the show here

THEESatisfaction – Martin [Self-Released]

Four Tet – Ba Teaches Yoga [Text Records]

Dawn of MIDI – Ymir Thirsty Ear

Jyoti – Nit [Somothaship Connect]

Golden Boys -  Berimbau [Odeon]

Andrew Ashong – Special [White]

Shigeto – No Better Time Than Now [Ghostly International]

Mos Def – Umi Says [Rawkus]

Herbie Hancock – Chameleon [CBS]

EPROM – Center Of The Sun [Rwina Records]

Rhye – Woman (Eprom Remix) [Polydor]

Hejira – Fields Of Rooftops [Accidental]

Hex – Jazzstep [Blue Note]

Four Tet – Gong [Text]

Chico Hamilton – Head Hunters [Solid State Records]

Sergio Ricardo – Amazonas [Equipe]

Carlos Malta & Pife Muderno – Coisa Dos Santos

João Donato – Amazonas [RCA Victor]

Maira Freitas – Mambembe [Biscoito Fino]

João Donato – Amazonas [RCA Victor]

Dona Onete – Lua Namoradeira [Sel Na Music]

Gabriel Muzak – Bele Nao Para [Bolacha Discos]

Najat Aatabou Hadi Kedba Bayna (Just Tell Me the Truth) [Unknown Label]

The Chemical Brothers – Galvanize [Virgin]

Peshay – Kickin’ It With The Piano [Tru Thoughts]

Poliça – Wandering Star [BBC Session]

Stepkids – Sweet Salvation [Stones Throw]

The Stepkids – Get Lucky (Daft Punk Cover) [White]

The Stepkids – Moving Pictures [BBC Session]

The Stepkids – Shadows On Behalf [BBC Session]

Robert Wyatt – Rivmic Melodies [Cuneiform Records]

The Stepkids – 500 Miles High (Return To Forever Cover) [BBC Maida Vale Session]

Daim Funk Feat Snoop Dogg – Faden Away [Stones Throw Records]

The Internet Feat. Mac Miller – Feel Good [Odd Future]

Niles Peterson Molvaer & Moritz Von Oswald – Noise 1 [Universal]

Claire McGuire – Black Coffee [Polydor]

Dawn of MIDI – Nix [Thirsty Ear]

Sun Ra – Make Another Mistake [El Saturn Records]

Eprom – Subroc [White]

Sharon Revoal – Reaching For Our Star [Numero]

Burton Inc – Who You Gonna Get [Jazzman]

Mark Pritchard – Make A Livin’ [Warp]

iTAL tEK – Jupiter Ascent [Planet Mu]

Mark Edwards – Watershed [Quiet Money Recordings]

Quantic & Nidia Congora – Muevelo Negro [Tru Thoughts]