MENU Gilles Peterson // BBC Radio 6 Music // Kate Tempest In Session

Gilles Peterson // BBC Radio 6 Music // Kate Tempest In Session

May 27, 2014

To reflect 6 Music at the Hay on Wye festival, Gilles has a special session from MC and poet, Kate Tempest.

Starting out when she was in her mid-teens, Kate has come a long way since rapping at strangers on night buses; with a play, books and a new album under her belt.

Her debut album, with the band Sound of Rum, arrived in 2011 and since then she has supported the likes of Billy Bragg, Femi Kuti and John Cooper Clarke. Her latest musical offering comes in the shape of Everybody Down, a new solo album which is out soon.

In addition, Gilles will also be residing over the usual Saturday afternoon mix up selection, joining the musical dots between soul, hip hop, house, afro, electronica, jazz and beyond, in his own inimitable style.

Listen to full show Here.

Track List:

Moacit Santos – Off and On (Blue Note)
Joao Donato – Amazonias (Odeon)
Fatima – Talk (Eglo)
Dexter Wansel – The Sweetest Pain (Philadelphia)
Rancido – 104
Eric Lau – Love Call feat Tawiah
Low Leaf – Set Me Free
Fatima – Technology (Eglo)
The Lost Generation – This Is The Lost Generation (Brunswick)
Bo Hannon – Save Their Souls (Brunswick)
Willie Henderson & The Soul Explosion – Harlem (Brunswick)
Swindle – Smash n Grab
Kate Tempest – The Beigeness (Stray Remix)
Labi Siffre – Bless The Telephone
RJD2 – Making Days Longer
Kelis – Bless The Telephone
The Roots – Never feat Patty Crash
FaltyDL – Heart and Soul
Mac Miller – Colours and Shapes
Taylor McFerrin – Already There feat Robert Glasper and Thundercat
Baader Meinhof – GSG 29
Lonnie Smith – Move Your Hands
Edwin Birdsong – Night of the full moon
TUFO – Cheese To Oedipus
Little Dragon – Cat Rider
The Elder Statesman – Trans Apline Express
Chassol – I Looooove U Sometimes
Eska – Shade of Blue
Sivuca – Ain’t No Sunshine (Vanguard) JINGLE IN THE MIDDLE
Words and Music with Kate Tempest
Kate Tempest – Lonely Daze (Live Session Track)
Micachu – Lonely Void
Outkast – Agueuri
Kate Tempest – The Heist (Live Session Track)
Bill Withers – Better Off Dead
Kate Tempest – The Truth (Acapella)
Theo Parrish – Footwork
Fatima – La Neta
Feed The Robots – Take Flight
Chaino & The Safari Percussion Boys – Cum Ba See
Wasonga Muga – Robert Opio
Meridian Brothers – El Gran Pajaro de Los
Chaino & The Safari Percussion Boys – Torture of the Mau Mau
Wayne Henderson – I’m Staying Forever
Lone – 2 is 8