MENU Gilles Peterson // BBC Radio 6 Music // Saturday 30th August

Gilles Peterson // BBC Radio 6 Music // Saturday 30th August

September 1, 2014

This week Gilles is back in the studio for another Saturday afternoon mix up selection, joining the musical dots between soul, hip hop, house, afro, electronica, jazz and beyond, in his own inimitable style.

This week he is focussing on two albums, one from Atlanta-based 18 year old Raury, and the second from South Africa’s Julian Bahula. He also catches up on some new releases from Shafiq Husayn, Dark Sky, Shackleton and Terri Walker.

Listen again here.


Various – All Night Long (Intro) (No Label)

Malombo Jazz Makers – Hleziphi (Strut)

Paul White – All We Know (R&S)

Rp Boo – Rp Boo Meets Shangaan Electro (Honest Jons)

Shackleton – Vor Und Zuruck (Woe To The Sceptic Heart)

Martyn – Like That (Seven Davis Jr Remix) (White)

Raury – God’s Whisper (Mixtape – Indigo Child)

Elder Island – Season (Four Thieves)

Lonnie Holley – Looking for All (All Rendered Truth)

Ras G – Rendered (Leaving)

Melanie de Biasio – All My Love (Jonwayne Remix) (Unreleased)

Dark Sky – Voyages (Monkeytown)

Gideon Van Gelder – Visions (P-Vine, Inc)

Burial – In McDonalds (Hyperdub)

Kate Bush – Army Dreamers (EMI)

Daudi Matsiko – Houston in the Blind (Bandcamp)

Dominico –  Peteleco Zum (Plug Research)

Moreno Veloso – Em Todo Lugar (Luaka Bop) (Free Download)

Speedometer – Happy (Freestyle)

Sango – Baile Somebody (HW&W)

Jon Phonics – Elevations feat Yasine (Forthcoming HoTep)

Shafiq Husayn – Its Better For You (Eglo)

Dawn Pemberton – Say Somethin’ (DO RIGHT! Music)

En Vogue – My Lovin’ (Extended Version) (East West Records)

Terri Walker – Feel Right (Forthcoming)

Skye – Ain’t No Need (Anada) 

Femme – Fever Boy (Next Plateau)

Larry Young – Talkin’ About JC (Blue Note)

Les Sins – Bother (Company)

Purple Velvet – Never Knew (Mancucci’s Mistress)

Flying Lotus – Do The Astral Plane (Warp)

Dave Brubeck & Charles Mingus – Non-Sectarian Blues (Colombia)

Sun Ra & His Solar Myth Arkestra – The Lady With The Golden Stockings (Strut)

Jabula – Sorrows (Extract) (Strut)

Malombo – Malombo Workshop (Strut)

Jabula – Thunder Into Our Hearts (Strut)

Afro Latin Vintage Orchestra –  Complot (Bandcamp)

Black Sugar – Checan (Tiger’s Milk)

Santana – Para Los Rumberos (Colombia)

Sacha Mambo & Keeto – Santo Chrystal (Macadam Mambo)

Heem The Music Monsters – Wake Up People (EBC Vinyl Master) (White)

Raury – Woodcrest Manor (Indigo Child Mixtape)

Jazzmine Garfield – Friend Zone (Free Download)

Sol Monk – Ata

Wildbirds & Peacedrums – The Offbeat (The Leaf Label)

The Rolling Stones – Miss You (Warners)

Raury – Seven Suns (Indigo Child Mixtape)

Shabazz Palaces – They Come In Gold (Sub Pop)

Hudson Mohawke – Cbat (Warp)

Gallow Street – Mohawke Medley (White)

LJ Reynolds – A Key To The World (Capitol)

Kode9 & The Spaceape – Hole in the Sky (Hyperdub)

Bunny Wailer – Back To School (Solomonic)