MENU Gilles Peterson // BBC Radio 6 Music // Trevor Jackson In The Studio

Gilles Peterson // BBC Radio 6 Music // Trevor Jackson In The Studio

September 21, 2015

Gilles is back for another Saturday mix up selection and this week speaks to London based art director, designer and producer, Trevor Jackson.

Jackson’s career began when he created the design company BITE IT! in 1987 and, since then, his work has been exhibited at the ICA, Barbican and the Guggenheim. His cover art has been widely celebrated; the eye-catching visual campaign he created for Soulwax’s Any Minute Now netted him a whole heap of awards. Visual work aside, he has also proved himself to be an important part of UK music’s fabric, having remixed the likes of U2, Massive Attack and UNKLE. He also formed the label Output Recordings, which ran until 2006 and released music from artists such as Four Tet and LCD Soundsystem. Returning to releasing his own music, Jackson’s latest album FORMAT is his first album in 15 years – with each individual track being released on a spectrum of formats; 12″ vinyl to MiniDisk to reel-to-reel tape to VHS.

Listen Here!

Sixtus Preiss – Lololo (Band Version)
Jamie Woon – Thunder
Bobby McFerrin – Jubilee
Fania All-Stars – Los Bravos
Dol Boy – Smoke, Drink and
Mono/Poly – The Real
Mark Murphy – Dingwalls
DJ Spinn & Rashad – Dubby
Pete Josef – Colour
John Legend & The Roots – Hang On In There
Matthew Halsall and the Gondwana Orchestra – The Land Of
Nomine – Reticent Shadow
Nomine – Awakening
Herbert – Smart
Tirzah – Make It Up
African Headcharge – Stebeni’s Theme
Diabolical Liberties – Arthur Russ
Guy Earren of Ghana – African Dance No 1
Lil Jabba – Waila
Henry Wu – Road To Islam
Fat Freddys Drop – Razor
Sons of Arqa – Asian Rebel
Fats Comet – Dub Storm
Trevor Jackson – They Came From NY
Akabu – Akabu Theme
Shara Nelson & The Circuit – Aiming At Your Heart
Mo Kolours – Orphans Lament
Curtis Amy – Native Land
BEAK – There’s No One
Max Roach – Garvey’s Ghost
Cavalier – The Blind Seer
Nappy Brown – Coal Miner
Bastian Keb – Blurs
Throwing Shade – 38000
Troumaca – The Grace
Pete Josef – The Travelling Song
Scott Cunningham – Uncontrolled
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – The River
Kode 9 – Vacuum Packed
Nasty Nag – Worldwide
Fertile Ground – The Moment (Seiji remix)
One Exchange Bureau meets John Arnold – Spookie Dookie
Pearson Sound – Thaw Cycle