MENU Gilles Peterson on BBC 6 Music // Kirk Degiorgio in the studio

Gilles Peterson on BBC 6 Music // Kirk Degiorgio in the studio

September 17, 2013

This week Gilles is joined by British techno legend Kirk Degiorgio, who drops by to chat about his forthcoming album, SambaTek – a collision of traditional Brazilian batucada percussion and techno. Also in the show there’s a double Do Over, joining the dots between Dionne Warwick’s ‘Walk On By’ and ‘Walk The Way You Talk’ with big new remix releases from Osunlade and Exist. Plus, Gilles has brand new music from Elvis Costello’s collaboration with The Roots, alongside cuts from Janelle Monae, SCNTST, Gregory Porter and James Pants. Of course, all this comes with a serving of jazz treats and a brief visit to the Secret Waltz Club along the way.

Listen to the show: HERE

Gregory Porter – Liquid Spirit (Blue Note)
James Pants – Ritual Magick (All City)
Ethel Waters – One Sweet Letter From You (Om’Mas Keith Remix)
Mario Migliardi – Splowg’s (Easy Tempo)
Oneohtrix – Point Never Zebra (Warp)
Lonnie Holley – Sun And Water (Dust to Digital)
Kyp Malone and Tunde Adebimpe, Kronos Quartet + Stuart Bogie Sorrow – Tears & Blood (Red Hot)
Sons Of Kemet – Inner Babylon (Vince Vella Remix)
Maze You (feat Frankie Beverly) (Capitol)
Osunlade – Dionne (Yoruba)
Dionne Warwick Walk The Way You Talk (Scepter/Wand)
Dionne Warwick Walk On By (Scepter)Exist – Lookin’ At Blue (R2)

The Flamingos – I Only Have Eyes For You (End)
Hello Ardiente – El MensajeOrlando Julius & His Afro Sounders
James Brown – Ride On (Ekosound)
Nora Dean – Angie La La (Treasure Isle)
Zara McFarlane & Leron Thomas Ay Ay Ay Ay Swing (Brownswood)
Snarky Puppy Amour T’es La (feat Magda Giannikou) (GroundUp Music)
Gilberto Gil – Viramundo (Philips)
Elvis Costello & The Roots Five Minutes With You (Decca)
Mount Kimbie You Took Your Time (feat King Krule & Jeremiah Jae) (Oneman Remix) (Warp)
Janelle Monáe – Look Into My Eyes (Bad Boy Records/Atlantic)
Salaam Remi – Makin’ It Hard For Me (feat Corinne Bailey Rae) (Sony)
Iamnobodi LoveLite (feat. Stacy Epps) (Soulection)
Hawk House – Live-ation

Salaam Remi Risin’ To The Top (Flying Buda)
Rose Royce Still In Love (Epic)
The Internet – Dontcha (Odd Future)
Bobby – Tame The Shrew (Quieres Chicle)
Piero Umiliani – Notte In Algeria (Cam)
Ta-Ku – Beginning To End
Scope – Grand Bassam (Andre Records)

Roy Haynes – Quiet Fire (Galaxy Records)
New Franco G 5 – Ye Me-le (Alpharecord)
SCNTST – For Forest Play Only
Michael White – Spirit Dance (Impulse!)
Celia – Na Boca Do Sol (Continental)

José Mauro – Apocalipse (Quartin)
Kirk Degiorgio – In The Studio
Kirk Degiorgio Borel (Far Out Recordings)
Kirk Degiorgio – Complexo Du Alem (Far Out Recordings)
Finn Savory Trio – Misturada (Metronome)
Ed Motta – Dondi (Membran)