MENU GP's World Cup Special on BBC Radio 1 // 03-03-10

GP’s World Cup Special on BBC Radio 1 // 03-03-10

March 5, 2010

Very special show this week as GP digs deep for a World Cup special – one tune from every country sending a team to South Africa in June 2010. Check it on the BBC iplayer over HERE.


Group A: South Africa, Mexico, Uruguay & France
DJ Mujava — Pleaze Mugwanti (N.E.W.S.)
Mexican Institute of Sound — Bittersweet Symphony (Nacional Records)
Opa — Montivideo (Milestone)
Rocé — Si Peu Comprennent (White)

Group B: South Korea, Greece, Argentina & Nigeria
Epik High — Map The Soul (Map The Soul)
Eleni Karaindrou — Tou Vals Tou Gamou (Minos)
Gotan Project — De Hombre A Hombre (Ya Basta)
Nneka — The Uncomfortable Truth (Yo Mama’s)

Group C: England, USA, Algeria & Slovenia
Zed Bias — Blaow feat. Rodney P (White)
Tom Waits Tom Waits — Diamonds On My Windshield (Elektra)
Fadela & Sahraoui — N’sel Fik (Earthworks)
Murat — Tko To Gre (White)

Group D: Australia, Germany, Ghana & Serbia
The RAah Project — Will You Be There (Summer Dawn)
The Whitefield Brothers — Safari Strut (Now Again)
The Cutlass Dance Band — Wehwe Mu Yi Mpena (Soundway)
Gramaphonedzie — Why Don’t You (Guesthouse Music)

Group E: Holland, Denmark, Cameroon & Japan
The Opposites — Broodje Bakpao (Top Notch)
Quadron — Average Fruit (A:larm)
Manu Dibango — New Bell (Octopus Breaks)
SOIL&”PIMP” SESSIONS — Popcorn (Brownswood)

Group F: Paraguay, Italy, Slovakia & New Zealand
Ripe Banana Skins — Estar Vivo (AsunZionVirtualMusique)
Raphael Gualazzi — Reality (White)
Oscar Rozsa — Barflies Pendulum (White)
Electric Wire Hustle — They Don’t Want (Brownswood)

Group G: Ivory Coast, Portugal, Brazil & North Korea
Dobet Gnahoré — Djiguene (Cumbancha)
Buraka Som Sistema — Yah (Modular)
Caetano Veloso Caetano Veloso — A Cor Amarela (Universal)
Kuktan Arirang — Arirang (White)

Group H: Switzerland, Chile, Spain & Honduras
Rolf Lieberman & George Gruntz — Les Echanges (Turicaphon)
Ricardo Villalobos — The Comtempt (Playhouse)
Ketama y Toumani Diabate — Caramelo (Hannibal Records)
Lugua Centeno — Finra (White)