MENU Worldwide Awards 2012 - The Winners

Worldwide Awards 2012 – The Winners

January 23, 2012


Wow, what a  weekend! Two greats in London town that both went off with a bang. Friday night saw

some of Gilles’ picks for 2012 take control of proceedings at XOYO and firmly deliver the goods, big shout to all that performed;  Bad Bad Not Good, 2Morrows Victory, Flako, Ifan Dafydd, Lefto, Alex Patchwork and of course Gilles. A great night was had by all and it was the perfect warm up to Saturday’s antics.

Saturday saw the return of the Worldwide Awards at KoKo, and what a night it was! Packed to the rafters, the crowd aswell as all the crew enjoyed amazing performances from all of the artists and Dj’s involved – Thundercat & Austin Peralta, SBTRKT, Michael Kiwanuka, Julio Bashmore, Dimlite, The Pyramids, Hudson Mohawke, Jamie XX, Bad Bad Not Good, Koreless, Kutmah, Gang Colours and LeFto.

Big thank you to all involved! Check out LeFto’s video above for a snapshot of the evening and see  below for the results of the awards.

The Winners

Session of The Year

1. Michael Kiwanuka
2. Raphael Saadiq
3. Nicolas Jaar
4. Austin Peralta
5. Mo Kolours

Track of The Year

1. Adele – Rollin In The Deep (Jamie XX Remix
2. Africa Hitek – Out In The Streets
3. Julio Bashmore – Battle For Middle You
4. Stee Downes
5. Bjork – Crystalline (Omar Souleyman Remix)
6. Jamie xx – Far Nearer
7. Flako – Attempting Cry
8. Lana Del Ray – Video Games (Joy Orbison Remix)
9. Stubborn Heart
10. Virgo 4 – (Caribou Remix)

Album Of The Year

2. Dimlite – Grimm Reality
3. Thundercat – The Golden Age Of Apocalypse
4. James Blake – James Blake
5. Stepkids – The Stepkids
6. Little Dragon – Ritual Union
7. Machinedrum – Room(s)
8. Shabazz Palaces – Black Up
9. DJ Shadow – The Less You Know The Better
10. DRC Music – Kinshasa One Two

Jazz Album Of The Year
1. Matthew Halsall
2. Austin Peralta
3. Tigran Hamasyan
4. Massa Sextet
5. Greg Foat


1. Brainfeeder
2. Numbers
3. Hotep
4. R&S
5. Young Turks

John Peel Play More Jazz Award

Lifetime Achievement Award
Idris Ackamoor